Emma Abbate & the Sacconi Quartet – Sunday, 1st October, 3pm

Emma Abbate - Sacconi Quartet

Following her wonderful performance earlier this year in a piano duo with Julian Perkins, we are absolutely delighted to welcome Emma back to play two great piano quintets with one of the finest string quartets in Britain, the Sacconi, who will begin with Caroline Shaw’s intriguing Entr’acte.  Shaw describes her 2011 composition, inspired by the minuet of Haydn’s Op. 77 No. 2, as “structured like a minuet and trio, riffing on that classical form but taking it a little further.”   I can think of no more fitting way to start our main season, which as a whole combines established classics with explorations in newer and less familiar musical territories.

Caroline Shaw:              Entr’acte

Dmitri Shostakovich:      Piano Quintet in G minor, Op. 57

Antonín Dvořák:            Piano Quintet No. 2, Op. 81

Concerts 2024-2025

Sun, 23rd June, 3pm – Nigel Clayton & Imma Setiadi   

Sun, 28th July, 3pm – Maria Waszyrowska & Harris Playfair

Sun, 8th Sept., 7:30pm – Alexandra Mackenzie & Ingrid Sawers

Sun, 29th Sept., 3pm – Meera Maharaj & Dominic Degavino

Sun, 20th Oct., 3pm – Dante Quartet

Sun, 24th Nov., 3pm – Martin Roscoe

Fri, 28th Feb., 7:30pm – Kyan Quartet

Sun, 23rd March, 3pm – Miriam Kramer & Nicholas Durcan

Sun, 13th April, 3pm – Da Vinci Trio

Sun, 4th May, 3pm – Hugh Mackay & Junyan Chen

Sun, 24th June, 3pm – Angeliki Giannopoulou

Please note that this website is updated only once a year in June or July.  For the latest news, visit us on Facebook. 

melrosemusicsoc@gmail.com

01573 420 650