Sun, 28th July, 3pm – Maria Waszyrowska, mezzo, & Harris Playfair, piano, with guest, Claire Davis, cello


“Simple Gifts” – Songs by Holst, Mahler and More

Our celebration of Gustav Holst concludes with his beautiful 6 Songs, Op.16.  Alongside familiar melodies by Mahler, Copland, Massenet and Bizet, Maria includes enchanting songs from her native Poland, while Claire will play Rachmaninov’s ever-popular Vocalise and a delightful arrangement of Szymanowski’s first piece.

Michael Head:  The Singer
Aaron Copland: Long Time Ago; Simple Gifts
Gustav Holst: Calm is the Morn; My True Love Hath My Heart; Weep You No More; Lovely Kind and Kindly Loving; Cradle Song; Peace
Gustav Mahler:  Rheinlegendschen; Um Mitternacht
Grażyna Bacewicz: Dzwon I Dzwonki; Samotnosc; Mow do Mnie; Smuga Cienia; Boli Mnie Glowa
Witold Lutoslawski:Morze; Wiatr;    Zima; Rycerze; Dzwony Cerkiewne
Karol Szymanowski:Prelude No 1 op. 1
Sergei Rachmaninov:Vocalise
Jules Massenet:Elegie
Georges Bizet: Habanera

        

            

        

  

          

          

Concerts 2024-2025

Sun, 23rd June, 3pm – Nigel Clayton & Imma Setiadi

Sun, 28th July, 3pm – Maria Waszyrowska & Harris Playfair

Sun, 8th Sept., 7:30pm – Alexandra Mackenzie & Ingrid Sawers

Sun, 29th Sept., 3pm – Meera Maharaj & Dominic Degavino

Sun, 20th Oct., 3pm – Dante Quartet

Sun, 24th Nov., 3pm – Martin Roscoe

Fri, 28th Feb., 7:30pm – Kyan Quartet

Sun, 23rd March, 3pm – Miriam Kramer & Nicholas Durcan

Sun, 13th April, 3pm – Da Vinci Trio

Sun, 4th May, 3pm – Hugh Mackay & Junyan Chen

Sun, 24th June, 3pm – Angeliki Giannopoulou

Please note that this website is updated only once a year in June or July.  For the latest news, visit us on Facebook. 

melrosemusicsoc@gmail.com

01573 420 650