Friday 3rd February 19:30 Ensemble Renard, wind quintet

Ensemble Renard

We are very grateful to the Tunnell Trust for sponsoring this exciting young ensemble, whose recital will open with their own arrangement of five of Mendelssohn’s Songs Without Words. Their virtuosity and expressiveness will be showcased in C20th French masterpieces by Poulenc and Ravel, and intensely emotional works by two of Scotland’s leading composers, MacMillan and Musgrave. Robert Simpson judged Carl Nielsen’s extraordinary Wind Quintet of 1922, which concludes the concert, “the subtlest and finest ever written”: the composer described the mood shifts in its extended set of variations as “now merry and quirky, now elegiac and serious”, which could also sum up the ensemble’s entire enthralling programme.

Concerts 2024-2025

Sun, 23rd June, 3pm – Nigel Clayton & Imma Setiadi   

Sun, 28th July, 3pm – Maria Waszyrowska & Harris Playfair

Sun, 8th Sept., 7:30pm – Alexandra Mackenzie & Ingrid Sawers

Sun, 29th Sept., 3pm – Meera Maharaj & Dominic Degavino

Sun, 20th Oct., 3pm – Dante Quartet

Sun, 24th Nov., 3pm – Martin Roscoe

Fri, 28th Feb., 7:30pm – Kyan Quartet

Sun, 23rd March, 3pm – Miriam Kramer & Nicholas Durcan

Sun, 13th April, 3pm – Da Vinci Trio

Sun, 4th May, 3pm – Hugh Mackay & Junyan Chen

Sun, 24th June, 3pm – Angeliki Giannopoulou

Please note that this website is updated only once a year in June or July.  For the latest news, visit us on Facebook. 

melrosemusicsoc@gmail.com

01573 420 650