Max Mostovetski – Sunday, 18th February, 3pm

Max Mostovetski

Born in 2001 in Leipzig, Max is one of the most promising young pianists in Germany.   He will be visiting Melrose as he retraces the steps of Mendelssohn across Scotland.  As well as the “Scottish” sonata, Max will be playing compositions associated with his native city: by Bach, of course, and Schumann, but also three obscure gentlemen who shared a Christmas dinner in 1887 at the Leipzig home of violinist Adolph Brodsky: Brahms, Tchaikovsky and Greig.

Bach:                   Toccata in E Minor BWV 914

Brahms:               4 Ballades Op.10

Tchaikovsky:        Carnival & Song of the Lark Op. 37; Dumka, Op.59

Mendelssohn:        Fantasia in F sharp minor “Sonate ecossaise”, Op 28

Grieg:                  Lyric Pieces: Op.43 – To Spring, Butterfly, Little Bird; Op.12 – Spring Dance

Schumann:          Piano Sonata No. 2 in G minor, Op. 22

Concerts 2024-2025

Sun, 23rd June, 3pm – Nigel Clayton & Imma Setiadi   

Sun, 28th July, 3pm – Maria Waszyrowska & Harris Playfair

Sun, 8th Sept., 7:30pm – Alexandra Mackenzie & Ingrid Sawers

Sun, 29th Sept., 3pm – Meera Maharaj & Dominic Degavino

Sun, 20th Oct., 3pm – Dante Quartet

Sun, 24th Nov., 3pm – Martin Roscoe

Fri, 28th Feb., 7:30pm – Kyan Quartet

Sun, 23rd March, 3pm – Miriam Kramer & Nicholas Durcan

Sun, 13th April, 3pm – Da Vinci Trio

Sun, 4th May, 3pm – Hugh Mackay & Junyan Chen

Sun, 24th June, 3pm – Angeliki Giannopoulou

Please note that this website is updated only once a year in June or July.  For the latest news, visit us on Facebook. 

melrosemusicsoc@gmail.com

01573 420 650